The Cinema Tropical Awards, created in 2010 to honor excellence in Latin American filmmaking, is the first and only international award entirely dedicated to honoring the artistry of recent Latin American cinema. In its inaugural year, the Awards were given to the Ten Best Latin American Films of the Aughts.

On Friday, October 22, 2010, Cinema Tropical awarded the 10 Best Latin American Films of the Decade (2000-2009) with the first edition of the Cinema Tropical Awards at the TimesCenter in New York City. This cutting edge event was the first of its kind, and created with the aim to establish an annual tradition in the future to honors the tremendous and constantly growing creative output of Latin American cinema and demonstrates this region’s great quality and diversity. 


WINNERS 2012 - 2018

2018: ARABY / ARABIA by João Dumans and Affonso Uchôa (Brazil)
by Gabriel Mascaro (Brazil)
2016: JAUJA by Lisandro Alonso (Argentina)
2015: THE MILITANT / EL LUGAR DEL HIJO by Manuel Nieto Zas (Uruguay)
2014: VIOLA by Matías Piñeiro (Argentina)
2013: NEIGHBORING SOUNDS / O SOM AO REDOR by Kleber Mendonça Filho (Brazil)
2012: OCTUBRE by Diego and Daniel Vega (Peru)