Arturo Ripstein Named President of the Locarno Film Festival Jury

Mexican filmmaker Arturo Ripstein has been named president of the jury for the 69th edition of the Locarno Film Festival to take place August 3-13 in Switzerland. The rest of the jury is composed by Brazilian producer Rodrigo Teixeira, French actress Kate Moran, Iranian director Rafi Pitts, and Chinese director Wang Bing.

Born in 1943 in Mexico City, Ripstein is one of the most internationally renowned Mexican filmmakers. Since his debut feature Time to Die in 1965 he has directed close to 30 feature films including El Santo Oficio / The Holy Office (1970), La reina de la noche / The Queen of the Night (1994), and El coronel no tiene quien le escriba / No One Writes to the Colonel (1999), the three films have premiered in the official competition at the Cannes Film Festival.

Ripstein had participated at the 1970 Locarno Film Festival with the film La hora de los niños, which was awarded with a Special Youth Jury Mention.