Carlos Diegues Selected as Head of Camera d'or Jury at Cannes

The Cannes Film Festival has announced that the veteran Brazilian director Carlos Diegues will chair the jury for this year's Camera d'or prize which is awarded to the best first film in the Official Selection, the Directors' Fortnight or in the Critics' Week sections of the French festival. This year 22 international films will be competing for the award including the Latin American films La playa by Juan Andrés Arango (Colombia), and Villegas by Gonzal Tobal (Argentina).

The other members of the Camera d'or Jury are Italian journalist Gloria Satta, Remy Chevrin from the French Association of Film Cinematographers, Herve Icovic from France's Federation of Cinema, Audiovisual and Multimedia Industries, Michel Andriey from France's Society of Film Directors and French Union of Film Critic's Francis Gavelle.

Throughout his stunning career, spanning over five decades, Diegues has directed directed more than 20 feature films, documentaries and shorts, including Xica da Silvia (1976), Bye Bye Brazil (1980), Orfeu (1999) and God is Brazilian (2003), among others. The Brazilian director and the rest of the jury will announce the winner at the festival's closing ceremony, set on May 27th.