Top Grossing Mexican Films of All-Time [Revised]

[Updated November 5, 2014] 2014 will be another milestone year for Mexican cinema at the box office, as three new films have entered the list of top ten grossing Mexican films of all time: Luis Estrada's La dictadura perfecta, Marco Polo Constandse's Cásese quien pueda, and Sebastián del Amo's Cantinflas

[Originally published October 1, 2013] Eugenio Derbez's debut feature film No se aceptan devoluciones / Instructions Not included is making history this week becoming the top grossing Mexican film of all-time at the local box office, deposing the short reign of Gaz Alazraki's Nosotros los Nobles at the number one spot. With only ten days in release, Derbez's film has earned the impressive amount of $355.3 million pesos or about $26.95 million USD. The Mexican box office has seen a lot of record-breaking activity this year as both Alazraki and Derbez's films broke all time records with just a six-month difference.

TropicalFRONT presents the list of the highest grossing films in the country. The list has three animated films (Una película de huevos and its sequel, and the Mexican-Argentinean co-production based on Hanna Barbera's American cartoon Don Gato y su pandilla, and two films starring Gael García Bernal (El crimen del padre Amaro and Rudo y Cursi). Derbez is also featured on the number sixth spot as the leading actor in Alejandro Springall's No eres tú, soy yo.   

  1. No se aceptan devoluciones (Eugenio Derbez, 2013), $600 million/ 15.2 million spectators
  2. Nosotros los Nobles (Gaz Alazraki, 2013), $340 million / 7.1 million spectators
  3. Cásese quien pueda (Marco Polo Constandse, 2014), $168 million / 4.9 million spectators  
  4. El crimen del padre Amaro (Carlos Carrera, 2002), $162 million / 5.2 million spectators
  5. Una película de huevos (Gabriel Riva Palacio and Rodolfo Riva Palacio, 2006), $142 million / 3.9 million spectators
  6. La dictadura perfecta (Luis Estrada, 2014), $136.4 million / 3 million spectators
  7. Rudo y Cursi (Carlos Cuarón, 2008), $127 million / 3.1 million spectators
  8. Cantinflas (Sebastián del Amo, 2014), $126 million / 2.7 million spectators
  9. No eres tú, soy yo (Alejandro Springall, 2010) $125.6 million / 2.9 million spectators
  10. Km 31 (Rigoberto Castañeda, 2006), $118.8 million / 3.2 million spectators


All figures in Mexican pesos.