Cannes 2015: Del Toro Selected as a Jury Member


Mexican filmmaker Guillermo del Toro has been selected as a member of Cannes official competition jury in its 68th edition, it was announced today.

The nine-member jury headed by American filmmakers Ethan and Joel Cohen and composed by Spanish actress Rossy de Palma, French actress Sophie Marceau, British actress Sienna Miller, Malian musician Rokia Traoré, Canadian director Xavier Dolan, and American actor Jake Gyllenhaal, will chose the Palm d'Or winner among the films in competition.

Del Toro becomes the eleventh Mexican to participate in Cannes' official jury. The first Mexican jury was playwright Rodolfo Usigli in the very first edition of the festival in 1946. He was followed by filmmaker Luis Buñuel in 1954, by actress Dolores del Río in 1957, actor Pedro Armendáriz in 1961, actor/politician Rodolfo Echeverría in 1973, writer/screenwriter Carlos Fuentes in 1977, film historian Emilio García Riera in 1995, actress Salma Hayek in 2005, director Alfonso Cuarón in 2008, and actor Gael García Bernal in 2014.

Del Toro premiered his acclaimed feature film Pan’s Labyrinth in the 2006 official competition at Cannes.